Skip to content

Monitoring with the openITCOCKPIT agent

Monitoring a host's basic parameters should never be a difficult or tedious task. The openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent is available for Windows, Linux and macOS and is able to collect metrics such as CPU, memory, disk usage, network status, temperatures etc. right out-of-the-box.

The openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent is adaptable and expandable because it is 100% compatible with the Nagios plugin API. Therefore, no additional software like NRPE or check_by_ssh is needed to run plugins on the target system.

Communication is encrypted by HTTPS by default.

Downloading and installing the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent

Before you start, install the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent on the target system you want to monitor.

To download the agent, we recommend using the official download site.

The source code is available via the GitHub repository: : fontawesome-brands-github: https://github.com/it-novum/openitcockpit-agent-go

Monitoring a host with the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent

In the context menu of the hosts, select the option openITCOCKPIT Agent Discovery.

select agent discovery

A wizard-based configuration process will guide you through all the steps.

The main differences between push and pull mode

Before you begin, you need to decide whether you want to monitor your host in push or pull mode.

  • In Pull mode, the openITCOCKPIT server connects regularly via HTTPS on port 3333 to the agent and fetches the verification results
  • In Push mode, the openITCOCKPIT monitoring agent connects regularly and "pushes" its monitoring results via HTTPS on port 443 to the openITCOCKPIT server. This is perfect if your target system is behind a NAT.

Pull mode

Both modes are easy to set up. For purposes of this tutorial we will use Pull mode. Click here for Push mode

push or pull

The second step is basically a graphical configuration generator used for modifying the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent configuration file. You just need to select the operating system you want to monitor and then click the "Next" button.

Connection Type: Auto-TLS

It is strongly recommended that you select Auto-TLS as the connection type. This will automatically secure and encrypt the connection between the openITCOCKPIT Server and the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent. More information about the security of the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent can be found in the documentation.

pull config

In the third step, you will be shown where you can download the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent and store the configuration file.

For the purposes of this tutorial, you can continue using the default configuration. For our next step, click on the " Next" button.

agent install config

The openITCOCKPIT Server will connect to the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent on the target system and perform a TLS certificate exchange. A unique certificate is generated for each openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent. This certificate is required for encryption and authentication purposes.

Click "Next" to continue.

cert exchange

The system will collect basic health metrics like CPU, memory and swap by default. You can, of course, also select other processes and services that you want to monitor. Once you have selected the desired services, click on "Done" to complete the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent setup.

create services

The last step will remind you to update the monitoring configuration. Please click on Update monitoring configuration

services create successfully

Once this has been done, the system will begin monitoring the selected services a few seconds later. It will also generate graphs whenever this is possible.

agent services monitored

Determining host status (optional)

By default, openITCOCKPIT will ping the target system to determine the host status. However, instead of a ping it is possible to use the results of the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent to determine the host status. For more information, please see the documentation: https://github.com/it-novum/openitcockpit-agent-go/wiki/Determining-the-host-status

Push mode

Select Push mode to continue.

agent push or pull use push

The second step is basically a graphical configuration generator used for modifying the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent configuration file. You just need to select the operating system you want to monitor and then click the "Next" button.

Enter the public IP address or FQDN of your openITCOCKPIT server in the openITCOCKPIT server address field and enter the API key that the agent should use in the openITCOCKPIT API key field.

Click Next to continue.

Security Note!

It is strongly recommended to create a new user with very few privileges and use an API key for unprivileged users. No special authorisations via user roles are required to transfer check results.

agent push config

In the third step, you will be shown where you can download the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent and store the configuration file.

Copy the configuration file displayed to the specified path and restart the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent service. The commands and file paths will depend on the operating system used. Click Next to continue.

agent config push

Each agent sends a unique identifier to the openITCOCKPIT server. To prevent unauthorised agents from submitting check results, all agents running in Push mode must be manually assigned to a host. Click Next to continue.

host to agent mapping

The system will collect basic health metrics like CPU, memory and swap by default. You can, of course, also select other processes and services that you want to monitor. Once you have selected the desired services, click on "Done" to complete the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent Setup.

!!! Info Because the agent runs in push mode, it is possible that openITCOCKPIT will not have received any data yet and therefore will not display any services. If this is the case, click to return to the previous step, wait 30 seconds, and then click the Next button again.

create services push

The last step will remind you to update the monitoring configuration. Please click on Update monitoring configuration

services created push export

Once this has been done, the system will begin monitoring the selected services a few seconds later. It will also generate graphs whenever this is possible.

agent services monitored push

By default, openITCOCKPIT will ping the target system to determine the host status. However, in most cases it is not possible to ping the target system when using Push mode.

Because of this, please edit the host and select the host template openITCOCKPIT Agent - Push and save. Don't forget to update (export) the monitoring engine configuration after you have completed this step.

openITCOCKPIT will now evaluate the timestamp for the last message received from the openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent and determine whether the host is available or not.

For more information, please see the documentation: https://github.com/it-novum/openitcockpit-agent-go/wiki/Determining-the-host-status

agent push host status

Zum Inhalt

Monitoring mit dem openITCOCKPIT Agent

Überwachen von grundlegenden Parametern eines Hosts sollte keine schwierige oder lästige Aufgabe sein. Der openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent ist für Windows, Linux und macOS verfügbar und in der Lage Metriken wie CPU, Arbeitsspeicher, Festplattenauslastung, Netzwerkstatus, Temperaturen etc. Out-of-the-box zu sammeln.

Damit der openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent anpassbar sowie erweiterbar ist, ist er zu 100 % mit der Nagios Plugin API kompatibel. Daher ist keine zusätzliche Software wie NRPE oder check_by_ssh nötig, um Plugins auf dem Zielsystem auszuführen.

Die Kommunikation ist standardmäßig verschlüsselt durch HTTPS.

Herunterladen und Installieren des openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent

Bevor Sie anfangen, installieren Sie den openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agenten auf dem gewünschten Zielsystem, dass Sie überwachen möchten.

Um den Agenten herunterzuladen empfehlen wir Ihnen die offizielle Download Seite

Der Quellcode ist über das GitHub Repository verfügbar: : fontawesome-brands-github: https://github.com/it-novum/openitcockpit-agent-go

Überwachen eines Hosts mit dem openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent

Im Kontextmenü der Hosts wählen Sie die Option openITCOCKPIT Agent Entdeckung

select agent discovery

Ein Wizard basierender Konfigurationsprozess wird Sie durch alle Schritte begleiten.

Hauptunterschiede zwischen Pull und Push Modus

Im ersten Schritt müssen Sie entscheiden, ob Sie Ihren Host im Push oder Pull Modus überwachen möchten.

  • Im Pull Modus verbindet sich der openITCOCKPIT Server regelmäßig via HTTPS auf dem Port 3333 zu dem Agenten und holt die Überprüfungsergebnisse ab
  • im Push Modus verbindet sich der openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent regelmäßig und "Schiebt" seine Überprüfungsergebnisse via HTTPS auf dem Port 443 zu dem openITCOCKPIT Server. Perfekt, wenn Ihr Zielsystem hinter einer NAT ist.

Pull Modus

Beide Modi sind einfach einzurichten. Für dieses Tutorial nutzen wir den Pull Modus. Klicken Sie hier für den Push Modus

push or pull

Der zweite Schritt ist grundsätzlich ein grafischer Konfigurationsgenerator, um die Konfigurationsdatei des openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent zu modifizieren. Sie müssen nur das Betriebssystem auswählen, welches Sie überwachen möchten und klicken auf die Schaltfläche "Weiter".

Verbindungstyp: Auto-TLS

Es wird nachdrücklich empfohlen, Auto-TLS als Verbindungstyp auszuwählen. Dies sichert und verschlüsselt die Verbindung zwischen dem openITCOCKPIT Server und dem openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent automatisch. Mehr Informationen über die Sicherheit des openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent finden Sie in der Dokumentation

pull config

Im dritten Schritt wird Ihnen gezeigt, wo Sie den openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent herunterladen und die Konfigurationsdatei ablegen können.

Für dieses Tutorial können Sie mit der Standardkonfiguration fortfahren. Zum nächsten Schritt klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche "Weiter".

agent install config

Der openITCOCKPIT Server wird sich zu dem openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent auf dem Zielsystem verbinden und ein TLS Zertifikatsaustausch vollziehen. Für jeden openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agenten wird ein einzigartiges Zertifikat generiert. Dieses Zertifikat wird für Authentifizierungs und Verschlüsselungszwecke benötigt.

Klicken Sie auf "Weiter" um fortzufahren.

cert exchange

Das System wird grundlegende Health Metriken wie CPU, Arbeitsspeicher und SWAP standardmäßig sammeln. Zusätzlich dazu können Sie weitere Prozesse und Dienste auswählen, die Sie überwachen möchten. Haben Sie die gewünschten Services ausgewählt, klicken Sie auf "Fertig" um das openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent Setup abzuschließen.

create services

Der letzte Schritt erinnert Sie daran die Monitoring-Konfiguration zu aktualisieren. Bitte klicken auf Aktualisieren der Überwachungskonfiguration

services create successfully

Ein paar Sekunden später wird das Monitoring System die ausgewählten Services überwachen und Graphen generieren, wann immer es möglich ist.

agent services monitored

Bestimmen des Hoststatus (optional)

Standardmäßig wird openITCOCKPIT einen Ping zum Zielsystem senden, um den Hoststatus zu bestimmen. Anstelle eines Pings ist es möglich die Ergebnisse des openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agenten zum Bestimmen des Hoststatus zu verwenden. Für weitere Informationen können Sie die Dokumentation nutzen https://github.com/it-novum/openitcockpit-agent-go/wiki/Determining-the-host-status

Push Modus

Wählen Sie den Push Modus, um fortzufahren.

agent push or pull use push

Der zweite Schritt ist grundsätzlich ein grafischer Konfigurationsgenerator, um die Konfigurationsdatei des openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agenten zu modifizieren. Sie müssen nur das Betriebssystem auswählen, welches Sie überwachen möchten und klicken auf die Schaltfläche "Weiter".

Setzen Sie die öffentliche IP-Adresse oder FQDN Ihres openITCOCKPIT Servers im Feld openITCOCKPIT Server Adresse und tragen den API-Key, welchen der Agent nutzen soll in das Feld openITCOCKPIT API Schlüssel.

Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Nächster, um fortzufahren.

Sicherheitshinweis!

Es wird dringend empfohlen einen neuen Benutzer mit sehr wenigen Berechtigungen zu erstellen und einen API-Key für unprivilegierte Benutzer zu verwenden. Um Check Ergebnisse zu übertragen sind keine speziellen Berechtigungen über Benutzerrollen nötig.

agent push config

Im dritten Schritt wird Ihnen gezeigt, wo Sie den openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agenten herunterladen und die Konfigurationsdatei ablegen können.

Kopieren Sie die angezeigte Konfigurationsdatei an den angegebenen Pfad und starten Sie den openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent Dienst neu. Die Kommandos und Dateipfade hängen vom genutzten Betriebssystem ab. Klicken Sie auf Nächster, um fortzufahren.

agent config push

Jeder Agent sendet eine eindeutige Kennung an den openITCOCKPIT Server. Um unautorisierte Agenten daran zu hindern Check Ergebnisse zu übertragen, müssen alle im Push Modus arbeitenden Agenten manuell zu einem Host zugewiesen werden. Klicken Sie auf Nächster, um fortzufahren.

host to agent mapping

Das System wird grundlegende Health Metriken wie CPU, Arbeitsspeicher und SWAP standardmäßig sammeln. Zusätzlich dazu können Sie weitere Prozesse und Dienste auswählen, die Sie überwachen möchten. Haben Sie die gewünschten Services ausgewählt, klicken Sie auf "Fertig", um das openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agent Setup abzuschließen.

Info

Da der Agent im Push Modus arbeitet, ist es möglich, dass openITCOCKPIT bisher noch keine Daten empfangen hat und daher keine Services anzeigen kann. Sollte dies der Fall sein, so klicken Sie auf , um auf den vorhergehenden Schritt zurückzukehren, warten 30 Sekunden und klicken anschließend wieder auf die Schaltfläche Nächster.

create services push

Der letzte Schritt erinnert Sie daran die Monitoring-Konfiguration zu aktualisieren. Bitte klicken Sie auf Aktualisieren der Überwachungskonfiguration

services created push export

Ein paar Sekunden später wird das Monitoring System die ausgewählten Services überwachen und Graphen generieren, wann immer es möglich ist.

agent services monitored push

Bestimmen des Hoststatus (optional, aber empfohlen)

Standardmäßig wird openITCOCKPIT einen Ping zum Zielsystem senden, um den Hoststatus zu bestimmen. In den meisten Fällen ist es nicht möglich einen Ping zum Zielsystem zu senden, wenn der Push Modus genutzt wird.

Bearbeiten Sie den Host und wählen die Hostvorlage openITCOCKPIT Agent - Push aus und speichern diesen ab. Vergessen Sie nicht anschließend die Monitoring Engine Konfiguration zu aktualisieren (Export).

openITCOCKPIT wird nun den Timestamp der zuletzt empfangenen Nachricht des openITCOCKPIT Monitoring Agents auswerten, um zu bestimmen, ob der Host verfügbar ist oder nicht.

Für weitere Informationen können Sie die Dokumentation nutzen https://github.com/it-novum/openitcockpit-agent-go/wiki/Determining-the-host-status

agent push host status